Home Forums SharewareOnSale Deals Discussion Clipdiary / Apr 25 2017 Reply To: Clipdiary / Apr 25 2017

#7757293 Reply | Quote

Clairvaux

Hi Rob,

Yes, both programs allow what you want.

Clip Diary is slightly better, and more intuitive, in that respect. All you have to do is :

1. Right-click icon.
2. Tick, or untick, Monitor Clipboard.

Outertech Clipboard History is only slightly more difficult, with 3 steps instead of 2 :

1. Click icon.
2. Click Configure.
3. Tick, or untick, Monitor Clipboard.

However, it’s Clip Diary approach which is right for this precise function : toggling the monitoring of the clipboard is not perceived as a configuration issue. It’s perceived as enabling or disabling the program, and as such, it should be available right away, at level 1 of the command hierarchy.

As an aside, Outertech Clipboard History has that critical possibility of easily deleting the accumulated clippings that Clip Diary makes so difficult to access :

1. Click icon.
2. Click Delete All History Entries, which is immediately obvious.
(Or Delete Clipboard Content, if you only want to clear the contents of Windows’ Paste function.)

In Clip Diary, to do the same thing, you have to jump through these ridiculous hoops :

1. Click the icon to open main window.
2. Stare at a hundred available options, and click File, just in case.
3. Stare at a dozen available options, and click Database, just in case.
4. Wonder whether you should click on Empty Database or Clean up Database.
5. If you guessed right (Empty Database), click OK to clear the confirmation box “Do you want to delete all the records from the database ?”
6. If you made the wrong guess (Clean up Database), then you can still delete your stash of clippings, but you have to navigate more hurdles and make even more untractable guesses :
7. Don’t Open Folder, Click Next.
8. Stare stupidly at next screen which no sane person can understand, and tick Plain Text, Rich Text and HTML just in case.
9. Click Preview just in case it helps.
10. Realise Preview does not give you any “view”, but tells you instead, in the same box, that “0 clips are selected from x”. Selected for deletion, presumably. So, wrong move.
11. Untick Process Only Clips Older that x Days.
12. Click Preview, and watch the message “x clips selected from x”. So, that was the correct option !
13. Click Delete.
14. Click OK to clear “Are you sure you want to delete clips ?”.
15. Be satisfied with the message “x clips were deleted, 0 still in database”.

See what I meant in my review, on the main page ?